Rose Theatre

25th Anniversary

On July 11th the Rose will be celebrating its 25th anniversary. It is indeed a milestone to be proud of. But what I reflect on, more than anything else, is the job that I still love, the hundreds of wonderful people who have worked for me, and the remarkable support that this community has shown the Rose. To all of you, a sincere, heartfelt thank you. Over this quarter century, we have shown 3,176 movies, popped 15.6 tons of popcorn, melted 9.5 tons of real butter, and watched you sprinkle 3.1 tons of nutritional yeast on your popcorn.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Mother & Daughter, 7/14/17

Wonder Woman, 6/3/17

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

Classics Night in the Starlight Room, 7/21/15

Amy -  Directed by Asif Kapadia, 7/20/15

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, 7/1/15

Manohla Dargis on The Wolfpack, 6/24/15

Pixar Rules!, 6/16/15

The Salt of the Earth and Woman in Gold Return, 6/14/15

Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, 6/2/15

Stratford Festival in HD, 5/29/15

Kristen Stewart in THE CLOUDS OF SILS MARIA, 5/6/15

Wild Tales is Wild Indeed, 4/28/15

The Alloy Orchestra Returns With Son of the Sheik, 4/23/15

The Hunting Ground: 2 weekend showings, 4/14/15

The Wrecking Crew Rocks!, 4/10/15

Seymour: An Introduction and The Wrecking Crew, 4/1/15

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem and Red Army, 3/27/15

‘71, 3/20/15

Dance 422, 3/10/15

And Now For Something Completely Different, 3/3/15

Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne: Master Filmmakers, 2/25/15

Paul Newman: Coors Connoisseur, 2/20/15

Stewart Stern (1922 - 2015), 2/12/15

Mary Dore - She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry, 2/4/15

Academy Award Nominees - Shorts, 1/27/15

Selma and JOHN, 1/22/15

Whiplash, 1/16/15

On the Waterfront, 1/13/15

Pride, 12/30/14

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), 12/23/14

Bainbridge Island Museum of Art, 12/16/14

Goodbye, Harvard Exit, 12/10/14

Citizenfour, 12/4/14

Mike Nichols, 1931-2014, 11/25/14

Return of the River Returns, 11/18/14

Director Jon Stewart, 11/15/14

     Impressive numbers like these deserve recognition, so we're acknowledging this anniversary with two special events: a free showing of THE GODFATHER to salute its 45th anniversary, and a screening of the new film WAKEFIELD, followed by a Q&A with our honored guest, writer-director Robin Swicord. Swicord also wrote and directed THE JANE AUSTEN BOOK CLUB, as well as writing screenplays for LITTLE WOMEN, MEMOIRS OF A GEISHA, and THE CURIOUS CASE OF BENJAMIN BUTTON. WAKEFIELD stars Bryan Cranston and Jennifer Garner. "A brilliant adaptation of E.L. Doctorow, with a performance of enormous depth and sensitivity by Bryan Cranston." -New York Observer

     THE GODFATHER will screen at 12:00 (first-come, first-seated), and WAKEFIELD will screen at 7:30. Tickets, at regular evening prices, are now available at the box office and online. Both movies are rated R. And perhaps most importantly, Rose popcorn will be free to all moviegoers all day on the 11th. I hope that you can join us.

     And this week we've got a great line-up of new movies, brought to you by the letter B: BABY DRIVER, BEATRIZ AT DINNER and THE BEGUILED.  You'll find show times and story lines about all of them below. And these are the last few days to catch the great documentary RESTLESS CREATURE: WENDY WHELAN, PARIS CAN WAIT, and this summer's hit WONDER WOMAN.

     Dig the tie dye t-shirt out from the bottom of the drawer, and join us this Saturday night for 80 minutes of musical bliss, as we rock out to MONTEREY POP. It's the 50th anniversary of this landmark film from the Summer of Love.

--Rocky