Rose Theatre

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more

If you want to catch some incredible acting talent on screen, do not miss Eddie Redmayne (THE THEORY OF EVERYTHING) and Alicia Vikander (EX MACHINA) in THE DANISH GIRL. Tom Hooper (THE KING'S SPEECH, LES MISERABLES) has directed a beautiful film, and it's now one of my top ten favorites of 2015. It concludes its Starlight engagement this Thursday (2/11), and moves to the Rosebud Cinema on Friday (2/12) for one more week. And speaking of great performances, Charlotte Rampling and Tom Courtenay,open in the Starlight Room Friday (2/12) in 45 YEARS. Ms. Rampling has been nominated for an Academy Award for Best Actress for her role in this movie.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

Classics Night in the Starlight Room, 7/21/15

Amy -  Directed by Asif Kapadia, 7/20/15

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, 7/1/15

Manohla Dargis on The Wolfpack, 6/24/15

Pixar Rules!, 6/16/15

The Salt of the Earth and Woman in Gold Return, 6/14/15

Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, 6/2/15

Stratford Festival in HD, 5/29/15

Kristen Stewart in THE CLOUDS OF SILS MARIA, 5/6/15

Wild Tales is Wild Indeed, 4/28/15

The Alloy Orchestra Returns With Son of the Sheik, 4/23/15

The Hunting Ground: 2 weekend showings, 4/14/15

The Wrecking Crew Rocks!, 4/10/15

Seymour: An Introduction and The Wrecking Crew, 4/1/15

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem and Red Army, 3/27/15

‘71, 3/20/15

Dance 422, 3/10/15

And Now For Something Completely Different, 3/3/15

Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne: Master Filmmakers, 2/25/15

Paul Newman: Coors Connoisseur, 2/20/15

Stewart Stern (1922 - 2015), 2/12/15

Mary Dore - She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry, 2/4/15

Academy Award Nominees - Shorts, 1/27/15

Selma and JOHN, 1/22/15

Whiplash, 1/16/15

On the Waterfront, 1/13/15

Pride, 12/30/14

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), 12/23/14

Bainbridge Island Museum of Art, 12/16/14

Goodbye, Harvard Exit, 12/10/14

Citizenfour, 12/4/14

Mike Nichols, 1931-2014, 11/25/14

Return of the River Returns, 11/18/14

Director Jon Stewart, 11/15/14

Robert Horton, 11/4/14

Bill Murray Day at TIFF, 10/23/14

Tracks, 10/14/14

CREED opens this Friday (2/12) in the Rosebud, a moving continuation of the Rocky Balboa story, directed by Ryan Coogler, who did such a beautiful job with FRUITVALE STATION. If you come to see CREED Saturday night (2/13) and you say,"Yo, Adrian" to the ticket taker, well, then you've earned yourself a free small popcorn.

And we'll be holding over both the very popular Coen Brothers' HAIL, CAESAR! for another week.

This weekend the National Theatre/Donmar Warehouse will once again be gracing our screen with their production of LES LIASONS DANGEREUSES, starring an impeccable Janet McTeer and Dominic West.

And you can look forward to our next Starlight Classics screening: DUCK SOUP, from the Marx Brothers, on Wednesday, February 24th at 7:30. Tickets are going fast!

As of Monday afternoon, 88 Rose Theatre members have claimed free tickets to our member appreciation screening of HITCHCOCK/TRUFFAUT on Saturday, February 20th at noon. There are only 158 seats available, so don't delay in getting your tickets, either online or at the box office. We're looking forward not only to this great new movie, but celebrating our new members and giving away some fabulous door prizes.

--Rocky