Rose Theatre

From the Balcony

It always surprises people when I tell them that I rarely watch movies at my own theaters. But I broke my habit last Friday for the opening of ARRIVAL, a movie I had seen at this year's Telluride Film Festival. It thrilled me upon first viewing, and thrilled me even more the second time around. The movie - based on "Story of Your LIfe" by Ted Chiang - is intriguing, intelligent, and expertly crafted, with a haunting score by Icelandic composer Johann Johanssonn. I'm going to see it a third time.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

Classics Night in the Starlight Room, 7/21/15

Amy -  Directed by Asif Kapadia, 7/20/15

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, 7/1/15

Manohla Dargis on The Wolfpack, 6/24/15

Pixar Rules!, 6/16/15

The Salt of the Earth and Woman in Gold Return, 6/14/15

Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, 6/2/15

Stratford Festival in HD, 5/29/15

Kristen Stewart in THE CLOUDS OF SILS MARIA, 5/6/15

Wild Tales is Wild Indeed, 4/28/15

The Alloy Orchestra Returns With Son of the Sheik, 4/23/15

The Hunting Ground: 2 weekend showings, 4/14/15

The Wrecking Crew Rocks!, 4/10/15

Seymour: An Introduction and The Wrecking Crew, 4/1/15

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem and Red Army, 3/27/15

‘71, 3/20/15

Dance 422, 3/10/15

And Now For Something Completely Different, 3/3/15

Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne: Master Filmmakers, 2/25/15

Paul Newman: Coors Connoisseur, 2/20/15

Stewart Stern (1922 - 2015), 2/12/15

Mary Dore - She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry, 2/4/15

Academy Award Nominees - Shorts, 1/27/15

Selma and JOHN, 1/22/15

Whiplash, 1/16/15

On the Waterfront, 1/13/15

Pride, 12/30/14

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), 12/23/14

Bainbridge Island Museum of Art, 12/16/14

Goodbye, Harvard Exit, 12/10/14

Citizenfour, 12/4/14

Mike Nichols, 1931-2014, 11/25/14

Return of the River Returns, 11/18/14

Director Jon Stewart, 11/15/14

Robert Horton, 11/4/14

Bill Murray Day at TIFF, 10/23/14

Tracks, 10/14/14

     Does J.K. Rowling ever disappoint her fans?  Apparently not.  FANTASTIC BEASTS AND WHERE TO FIND THEM is garnering glowing reviews leading up to the movie's release (and opening at the Rose) this Friday.  I'll be in the balcony again for this one.

     How do you like your Cumberbatch?  As DOCTOR STRANGE or as HAMLET? You have your choice this weekend, as the National Theatre of London't box office smash returns to the Rose this Saturday and Sunday, while up in the Starlight Mr. Cumberbatch continues his derring-do as DOCTOR STRANGE.

     Since we turned people away from the Community Arts Film Series showing of PEGGY GUGGENHEIM: ART ADDICT, I brought the movie back for four more shows in the Starlight this week, but the movie must conclude its engagement this Thursday.  Tickets are selling fast for the next two movies in the series - GERHARD RICHTER PAINTING and EVA HESSE - so don't wait too long to purchase them.

     If you missed the announcement in the Daily News and the Leader, the Rose and Starlight Room recently completed installation of Closed Caption (CC) readers. These new devices (available at the Rose concession or from the Starlight manager), attach to each theater chair and provide individual captions for customers with hearing loss.  Captions are now available at every show, with movies that provide this option.  In addition to the Closed Caption readers, new headsets provide improved sound and an Audio Describer feature, which provides a narrative telling of the movie for people whose sight is impaired. 

     Many of you have been asking if we'll be playing MOONLIGHT.  Absolutely.  It will be opening very soon.

     At the Saturday (11/26) showing of THE LAST WALTZ, there will be a drawing for a copy of "Testimony," the just-released, long-awaited, behind-the-scenes memoir from Robbie Robertson of the Band.

     The Rose and the Starlight Room will be closed Thursday, November 24 for Thanksgiving.  I hope that you enjoy this time with family and friends.

--Rocky