Rose Theatre

Laura, Chuck & Norman

Judging by attendance (over 700!), and comments from viewers, our DANCE ON CAMERA festival has been a resounding success. My sincere thanks to all of you who took a chance on this new program, and most especially to Brighid Greene, Programs Director at the Dance Films Association in Brooklyn, NY for her invaluable assistance. Our final film in the festival - A SWAN LAKE - is this Wednesday at 7:30. ALIVE & KICKING was the most popular film in the festival, so it's returning this Friday for a full week. You might want to wear your dancing shoes; the movie is that good.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Mother & Daughter, 7/14/17

25th Anniversary, 6/27/17

Wonder Woman, 6/3/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

Classics Night in the Starlight Room, 7/21/15

Amy -  Directed by Asif Kapadia, 7/20/15

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, 7/1/15

Manohla Dargis on The Wolfpack, 6/24/15

Pixar Rules!, 6/16/15

The Salt of the Earth and Woman in Gold Return, 6/14/15

Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, 6/2/15

Stratford Festival in HD, 5/29/15

Kristen Stewart in THE CLOUDS OF SILS MARIA, 5/6/15

Wild Tales is Wild Indeed, 4/28/15

The Alloy Orchestra Returns With Son of the Sheik, 4/23/15

The Hunting Ground: 2 weekend showings, 4/14/15

The Wrecking Crew Rocks!, 4/10/15

Seymour: An Introduction and The Wrecking Crew, 4/1/15

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem and Red Army, 3/27/15

‘71, 3/20/15

Dance 422, 3/10/15

And Now For Something Completely Different, 3/3/15

Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne: Master Filmmakers, 2/25/15

Paul Newman: Coors Connoisseur, 2/20/15

Stewart Stern (1922 - 2015), 2/12/15

Mary Dore - She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry, 2/4/15

Academy Award Nominees - Shorts, 1/27/15

Selma and JOHN, 1/22/15

Whiplash, 1/16/15

On the Waterfront, 1/13/15

Pride, 12/30/14

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), 12/23/14

Bainbridge Island Museum of Art, 12/16/14

Goodbye, Harvard Exit, 12/10/14

Citizenfour, 12/4/14

Mike Nichols, 1931-2014, 11/25/14

Return of the River Returns, 11/18/14

Director Jon Stewart, 11/15/14

     Five movies departing Thursday night, and four new ones beginning Friday. Say adieu to OBIT, CHASING TRANE, THEIR FINEST, GOING IN STYLE and A QUIET PASSION.

     CHUCK is likely to be gone from theatres in a heartbeat, but I couldn't pass it up because I love the cast - Liev Schreiber, Naomi Watts, Elizabeth Moss and Ron Perlman. Schreiber plays heavyweight boxer Chuck Wepner, the pride of Bayonne, New Jersey, a man who went fifteen rounds in the ring with Muhammad Ali, and the real-life inspiration for Rocky Balboa. But before all that, Wepner was a liquor salesman and a father with a modest prizefighting career whose life changed overnight. "In truth, this isn't a boxing movie at all. It's a movie about the kinds of existence in which boxing, or the swagger of boxing movies can feel like a big deal." (The New Yorker)

     If I put the full title of Richard Gere's new movie on our small box office board, there would be scant room for any other movies, but it'll be fun to try. NORMAN: THE MODERATE RISE AND TRAGIC FALL OF A NEW YORK FIXER is the story of Norman Oppenheimer (Gere), a man who lives a lonely life in the margins of New York power and money, a would-be operator dreaming up financial schemes that never come to fruition. "Richard Gere's performance is amazingly funny. It's got a lot to say about the world that we live in and how it works, but it says it in this very sly and deceptively lighthearted way." -A.O. Scott, The New York Times

     Based solely on the very scary trailer, I think that Ridley Scott could just as easily have used ALIVE & KICKING as the title for his new sci-fi film. I am bracing myself for ALIEN: COVENANT. Scott is a master filmmaker (BLADE RUNNER, THELMA & LOUISE, BLACKHAWK DOWN, THE MARTIAN), and with Michael Fassbender, Katherine Waterston and Billy Crudup at the helm of the colony ship Covenant, I'm betting that they'll return me safely to planet earth.

     Daniel Radcliffe and Joshua McGuire have been getting rave reviews for their performances in the National Theatre's new production of Tom Stoppard's ROSENCRANTZ AND GUILDENSTERN ARE DEAD. We're presenting the play only twice, this Saturday and Sunday at 11:00 a.m. Our classic film in the Starlight is sold out next Wednesday. We're presenting LAURA because it was a a favorite film of Robert Osborne. Robert was the long-time host of Turner Classic Movies, and a great friend to the Rose and the Port Townsend Film Festival.

--Rocky See you at the Rose, and the Starlight Room