Rose Theatre

Love is in the air!

I first became aware of Rebecca Miller in 2005 when I played her feature - THE BALLAD OF JACK AND ROSE - at the Rose. It was directed with great self-assurance, and I just had the feeling that this was a director who was going to move on to even greater accomplishments. Like her husband - actor Daniel Day-Lewis - she's very selective about the projects she takes on. MAGGIE'S PLAN, which opens in the Starlight Room this Friday, June 17th, is receiving some of the best reviews of her career. And she wears her famous lineage quite well. Her father was playwright Arthur Miller, and her mother was photographer Inge Morath.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Sweet Spot, 9/12/18

Programming Movies, 8/30/18

Spike Lee, 8/16/18

Marc Forster, 8/2/18

New York, 7/26/18

Fathers & Daughters, 7/15/18

Fred, 7/7/18

Rider / Rogers, 6/27/18

Write with Light, 6/15/18

The Two Rachels, 6/6/18

Disobedience, 5/31/18

RBG, 5/16/18

Tully & Giselle, 5/4/18

Senior Superheroes, 4/28/18

Northwest Stories, 4/19/18

Woof!, 4/14/18

Sonia & Andy, 4/5/18

Comedy! Comedy! Comedy!, 3/29/18

Stormy Weather, 3/14/18

Allison Janney, 3/2/18

Oscar Week, 2/22/18

Sam Shepard, 2/9/18

Hedy Lamarr, 1/31/18

Best Parent, 1/27/18

The Shape of Water, 1/10/18

Rosamond Purcell, 1/6/18

Goldsworthy & Oldman, 12/28/17

Frances McDormand, 12/24/17

Star Wars and Lady Bird, 12/13/17

Paris Pilgrimage, 11/28/17

Greta Gerwig, 11/22/17

Refrigerators, 11/16/17

Herb & Dorothy and more, 11/13/17

Remarkable Individuals, 11/1/17

Loving Vincent, 10/26/17

Royalty Rules, 10/13/17

Battle of the Sexes, 9/28/17

Greetings From Telluride, 9/10/17

Wind River & Spain, 8/31/17

Columbus, 8/25/17

Women & Film, 8/10/17

Inconvenient Sequel, 8/6/17

Mother & Daughter, 7/14/17

25th Anniversary, 6/27/17

Wonder Woman, 6/3/17

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

"My father was my father.  His well-known-ness was something separate from that.  It had no reality for me.  That Arthur Miller was like a shadow person.  So the only time I think about it is when I'm doing interviews and people ask me about it.  Other-wise I feel totally disconnected from that line of thought."

Miller has received numerous awards for her work, including the Grand Jury Prize at the Sundance Film Festival, the Independent Spirit John Cassavetes Award, and the National Board of Review Award for Special Recognition for Excellence in Filmmaking.  She's also a novelist and an advocate for women in the film industry.

I'm sad to see it depart, but SING STREET must end this Thursday. It's very good.  Great music. A touching story. Wonderful performances from this young cast. And this is one of those movies that deserves to be seen on a large screen.

And the excellent documentary, VITA ACTIVA: THE SPIRIT OF HANNAH ARENDT departs Thursday as well.

LOVE & FRIENDSHIP holds over in the Rose for another week, and THE LOBSTER moves to the Rosebud Friday.  The trailer for THE LOBSTER focused on the humor that comes from the characters, but the film is rated R for some very disturbing violence.  

One movie that is funny from beginning to end is THE MORE THE MERRIER, our monthly Classics Night feature in the Starlight next Wednesday, June 22nd. Only 12 tickets remain.

And tickets are selling fast for TIME TO CHOOSE, the climate change documentary that plays this Wednesday, June 15th in the Rose at 7:30. A moderated, post-film discussion will follow the screening.

Popcorn and a movie is a staple of my life, but the Silverwater Cafe's new baked sweet potato fries being served in the Starlight is truly complicating this life. They are delicious!
  
--Rocky

See you at the Rose, and the Starlight Room