Rose Theatre

Love is in the air!

I first became aware of Rebecca Miller in 2005 when I played her feature - THE BALLAD OF JACK AND ROSE - at the Rose. It was directed with great self-assurance, and I just had the feeling that this was a director who was going to move on to even greater accomplishments. Like her husband - actor Daniel Day-Lewis - she's very selective about the projects she takes on. MAGGIE'S PLAN, which opens in the Starlight Room this Friday, June 17th, is receiving some of the best reviews of her career. And she wears her famous lineage quite well. Her father was playwright Arthur Miller, and her mother was photographer Inge Morath.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Women & Film, 8/10/17

Inconvenient Sequel, 8/6/17

Mother & Daughter, 7/14/17

25th Anniversary, 6/27/17

Wonder Woman, 6/3/17

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

Classics Night in the Starlight Room, 7/21/15

Amy -  Directed by Asif Kapadia, 7/20/15

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, 7/1/15

Manohla Dargis on The Wolfpack, 6/24/15

Pixar Rules!, 6/16/15

The Salt of the Earth and Woman in Gold Return, 6/14/15

Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, 6/2/15

Stratford Festival in HD, 5/29/15

Kristen Stewart in THE CLOUDS OF SILS MARIA, 5/6/15

Wild Tales is Wild Indeed, 4/28/15

The Alloy Orchestra Returns With Son of the Sheik, 4/23/15

The Hunting Ground: 2 weekend showings, 4/14/15

The Wrecking Crew Rocks!, 4/10/15

Seymour: An Introduction and The Wrecking Crew, 4/1/15

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem and Red Army, 3/27/15

‘71, 3/20/15

Dance 422, 3/10/15

And Now For Something Completely Different, 3/3/15

Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne: Master Filmmakers, 2/25/15

Paul Newman: Coors Connoisseur, 2/20/15

Stewart Stern (1922 - 2015), 2/12/15

Mary Dore - She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry, 2/4/15

Academy Award Nominees - Shorts, 1/27/15

Selma and JOHN, 1/22/15

Whiplash, 1/16/15

On the Waterfront, 1/13/15

Pride, 12/30/14

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), 12/23/14

Bainbridge Island Museum of Art, 12/16/14

Goodbye, Harvard Exit, 12/10/14

Citizenfour, 12/4/14

Mike Nichols, 1931-2014, 11/25/14

"My father was my father.  His well-known-ness was something separate from that.  It had no reality for me.  That Arthur Miller was like a shadow person.  So the only time I think about it is when I'm doing interviews and people ask me about it.  Other-wise I feel totally disconnected from that line of thought."

Miller has received numerous awards for her work, including the Grand Jury Prize at the Sundance Film Festival, the Independent Spirit John Cassavetes Award, and the National Board of Review Award for Special Recognition for Excellence in Filmmaking.  She's also a novelist and an advocate for women in the film industry.

I'm sad to see it depart, but SING STREET must end this Thursday. It's very good.  Great music. A touching story. Wonderful performances from this young cast. And this is one of those movies that deserves to be seen on a large screen.

And the excellent documentary, VITA ACTIVA: THE SPIRIT OF HANNAH ARENDT departs Thursday as well.

LOVE & FRIENDSHIP holds over in the Rose for another week, and THE LOBSTER moves to the Rosebud Friday.  The trailer for THE LOBSTER focused on the humor that comes from the characters, but the film is rated R for some very disturbing violence.  

One movie that is funny from beginning to end is THE MORE THE MERRIER, our monthly Classics Night feature in the Starlight next Wednesday, June 22nd. Only 12 tickets remain.

And tickets are selling fast for TIME TO CHOOSE, the climate change documentary that plays this Wednesday, June 15th in the Rose at 7:30. A moderated, post-film discussion will follow the screening.

Popcorn and a movie is a staple of my life, but the Silverwater Cafe's new baked sweet potato fries being served in the Starlight is truly complicating this life. They are delicious!
  
--Rocky

See you at the Rose, and the Starlight Room