Rose Theatre

POP QUIZ!

POP QUIZ! What has been the most frequently asked question at the Rose and Starlight Room within the last four weeks? You'll find the answer at the end of this column. When it comes to inspiration, director Mike Mills has had a steady supply thanks to his parents. His previous film, the screwball gem, BEGINNERS, was about his father coming out at 75 (earning Christopher Plummer an Oscar). With his new film, 20th CENTURY WOMEN - opening Friday at the Starlight - he's telling the story of his mother, as interpreted by Annette Bening, whom Mills describes as "gorgeously natural and intimidatingly genuine." This witty, loosely structured story will surely earn Bening a Best Actress Academy Award nomination next Tuesday morning. Listen to this great Fesh Air interview with Mike Mills. "Hilarious and touching, anchored by a never-better Annette Bening." -Hollywood Reporter

Past Rocky's Reviews

Women & Film, 8/10/17

Inconvenient Sequel, 8/6/17

Mother & Daughter, 7/14/17

25th Anniversary, 6/27/17

Wonder Woman, 6/3/17

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

Classics Night in the Starlight Room, 7/21/15

Amy -  Directed by Asif Kapadia, 7/20/15

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, 7/1/15

Manohla Dargis on The Wolfpack, 6/24/15

Pixar Rules!, 6/16/15

The Salt of the Earth and Woman in Gold Return, 6/14/15

Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, 6/2/15

Stratford Festival in HD, 5/29/15

Kristen Stewart in THE CLOUDS OF SILS MARIA, 5/6/15

Wild Tales is Wild Indeed, 4/28/15

The Alloy Orchestra Returns With Son of the Sheik, 4/23/15

The Hunting Ground: 2 weekend showings, 4/14/15

The Wrecking Crew Rocks!, 4/10/15

Seymour: An Introduction and The Wrecking Crew, 4/1/15

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem and Red Army, 3/27/15

‘71, 3/20/15

Dance 422, 3/10/15

And Now For Something Completely Different, 3/3/15

Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne: Master Filmmakers, 2/25/15

Paul Newman: Coors Connoisseur, 2/20/15

Stewart Stern (1922 - 2015), 2/12/15

Mary Dore - She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry, 2/4/15

Academy Award Nominees - Shorts, 1/27/15

Selma and JOHN, 1/22/15

Whiplash, 1/16/15

On the Waterfront, 1/13/15

Pride, 12/30/14

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), 12/23/14

Bainbridge Island Museum of Art, 12/16/14

Goodbye, Harvard Exit, 12/10/14

Citizenfour, 12/4/14

Mike Nichols, 1931-2014, 11/25/14

     And speaking of Best Actress awards, Jane Fonda received the Oscar for her remarkable performance in KLUTE ('71), which plays next Wednesday night in the Starlight Room as part of our monthly Classics Series.  It's a great crime-thriller directed by Alan J. Pakula (ALL THE PRESIDENT'S MEN, THE PARALLAX VIEW), costarring Donald Sutherland.  Only 6 tickets remain for next week's showing. 

     "Combustible chemistry." "White-hot sensuality." "Extraordinary passion."  Four hundred and twenty-six years later, William Shakespeare is still causing audiences and critics to swoon.  Bartlett Sher's brilliant and inspired new production of ROMEO ET JULIETTE at the Metropolitan Opera will be on screen live at the Rose this Saturday at 9:55 a.m. Diana Damrau and Vittoria Grigolo star as the star-crossed lovers.

     Only 35 tickets remain for EVA HESSE, which plays Sunday at noon as part of our Community Arts Film Series. I like this film a great deal because it's so deeply personal.  Yes, there are talking-heads, talking about Eva, but so much of what we learn about her comes from her own words, from her letters and journals.

     I opened Rocky's Review last week by saying that HIDDEN FIGURES is a winner. Apparently a lot of other people felt the same.  Nearly every show this past weekend was sold out, and I expect that this coming weekend will be a repeat. Advance tickets advised.

     Thursday is your last chance to see THE EAGLE HUNTRESS and MANCHESTER BY THE SEA.

     Thank you for the great turn-out and response to our Martin Luther King Jr. Day screening of I AM NOT YOUR NEGRO. The movie will be back February 24th for a 7-day run.

     POP QUIZ!  What has been the most frequently asked question at the Rose and Starlight Room within the last four weeks?  "When are you going to be playing LA LA LAND?" It's official, the movie opens next Friday, January 27th.