Rose Theatre

Remarkable Individuals

I did a double-take when I passed artist-activist Ai Weiwei on the street at the Telluride Film Festival in September. I think I was moved by a sense of history upon seeing him, and certainly by the knowledge of his arrest and imprisonment by Chinese authorities in 2011. He was at Telluride presenting HUMAN FLOW, his epic, new documentary about conditions in refugee camps, where millions are suffering and enduring after escaping the ethnic and religious violence and economic catastrophe of their homelands. Working with eleven cinematographers, he travels through Greece, Italy, Jordan, Hungary, Lebanon, the Gaza strip, Kenya, France and Germany. Weiwei patiently, lucidly depicts a slow-motion holocaust occurring on a planetary scale, while keeping his eyes open to the heroism of aid workers. Mostly we see the courage, humor, and tenacity of immigrants struggling to find a way to live with dignity. HUMAN FLOW plays Saturday and Sunday only at 1:15.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Greta Gerwig, 11/22/17

Refrigerators, 11/16/17

Herb & Dorothy and more, 11/13/17

Loving Vincent, 10/26/17

Royalty Rules, 10/13/17

Battle of the Sexes, 9/28/17

Greetings From Telluride, 9/10/17

Wind River & Spain, 8/31/17

Columbus, 8/25/17

Women & Film, 8/10/17

Inconvenient Sequel, 8/6/17

Mother & Daughter, 7/14/17

25th Anniversary, 6/27/17

Wonder Woman, 6/3/17

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

Classics Night in the Starlight Room, 7/21/15

Amy -  Directed by Asif Kapadia, 7/20/15

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, 7/1/15

Manohla Dargis on The Wolfpack, 6/24/15

Pixar Rules!, 6/16/15

The Salt of the Earth and Woman in Gold Return, 6/14/15

Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, 6/2/15

Stratford Festival in HD, 5/29/15

Kristen Stewart in THE CLOUDS OF SILS MARIA, 5/6/15

Wild Tales is Wild Indeed, 4/28/15

The Alloy Orchestra Returns With Son of the Sheik, 4/23/15

The Hunting Ground: 2 weekend showings, 4/14/15

The Wrecking Crew Rocks!, 4/10/15

Seymour: An Introduction and The Wrecking Crew, 4/1/15

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem and Red Army, 3/27/15

‘71, 3/20/15

Dance 422, 3/10/15

And Now For Something Completely Different, 3/3/15

Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne: Master Filmmakers, 2/25/15

Paul Newman: Coors Connoisseur, 2/20/15

Stewart Stern (1922 - 2015), 2/12/15

Mary Dore - She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry, 2/4/15

     I rarely book movies for thematic reasons. Instead, common themes serendipitously emerge after the fact. I would title the common thread binding Friday's movies REMARKABLE INDIVIDUALS. Certainly the aid workers in HUMAN FLOW are part of this, as is Jane Goodall, in the wondrous and stirring portrait JANE. No less compelling is the fictional retelling recounted in ONLY THE BRAVE and STRONGER.

     Drawing on over 100 hours of never-before-seen footage that has been tucked away in the National Geographic archives for over 50 years, award-winning director Brett Morgan tells the story of JANE, a woman whose chimpanzee research challenged the male-dominated scientific consensus of her time and revolutionized our understanding of the natural world. Set to a rich orchestral score from legendary composer Philip Glass, the film offers an unprecedented, intimate portrait of Jane Goodall - a trailblazer who defied the odds to become one of the world's most admired conservationists. "Its epic elements of adventure, romance and spiritual connection possess a sweep equal to any narrative film." -Hollywood Reporter

     Based on the true story of the Granite Mountain Hotshots, ONLY THE BRAVEis the heroic story of one unit of local firefighters who become one of the most elite firefighting teams in the nation. Josh Brolin, Jeff Bridges and Miles Teller headline this spellbinding and emotionally shattering story. 

     Jake Gyllenhaal stars in STRONGER as Jeff Bauman, an ordinary man who captured the hearts of his city and the world to become the symbol of hope following the infamous 2013 Boston Marathon Bombing. "STRONGER takes more artistic risks than any other American-made "inspired by true events" picture I can recall." -Glenn Kenny, The New York Times

--Rocky