Rose Theatre

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!

I'm very excited to announce that this month we're celebrating the kick-off of our new membership program with our first ever member appreciation screening! This event is free to all members (and is separate from the exclusive bi-annual member screenings available to Member Levels 3 and up). We'll be screening the new documentary HITCHCOCK/TRUFFAUT, based around original recordings between these two master filmmakers. It's a marvelous movie -- "A love letter to film itself" (L.A. Times) -- perfectly suited for our cinematically-obsessed Rose family. And with fabulous door prizes! Look up HITCHOCK/TRUFFAUT on the website for ticket information. (Be sure to get your ticket early, as these first-come, first-seated tickets will disappear quickly).

Past Rocky's Reviews

25th Anniversary, 6/27/17

Wonder Woman, 6/3/17

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

Classics Night in the Starlight Room, 7/21/15

Amy -  Directed by Asif Kapadia, 7/20/15

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, 7/1/15

Manohla Dargis on The Wolfpack, 6/24/15

Pixar Rules!, 6/16/15

The Salt of the Earth and Woman in Gold Return, 6/14/15

Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, 6/2/15

Stratford Festival in HD, 5/29/15

Kristen Stewart in THE CLOUDS OF SILS MARIA, 5/6/15

Wild Tales is Wild Indeed, 4/28/15

The Alloy Orchestra Returns With Son of the Sheik, 4/23/15

The Hunting Ground: 2 weekend showings, 4/14/15

The Wrecking Crew Rocks!, 4/10/15

Seymour: An Introduction and The Wrecking Crew, 4/1/15

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem and Red Army, 3/27/15

‘71, 3/20/15

Dance 422, 3/10/15

And Now For Something Completely Different, 3/3/15

Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne: Master Filmmakers, 2/25/15

Paul Newman: Coors Connoisseur, 2/20/15

Stewart Stern (1922 - 2015), 2/12/15

Mary Dore - She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry, 2/4/15

Academy Award Nominees - Shorts, 1/27/15

Selma and JOHN, 1/22/15

Whiplash, 1/16/15

On the Waterfront, 1/13/15

Pride, 12/30/14

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), 12/23/14

Bainbridge Island Museum of Art, 12/16/14

Goodbye, Harvard Exit, 12/10/14

Citizenfour, 12/4/14

Mike Nichols, 1931-2014, 11/25/14

Return of the River Returns, 11/18/14

Director Jon Stewart, 11/15/14

Robert Horton, 11/4/14

Port Townsend Film Festival's First Tuesday Salon is February 2nd, following the7:30 screening of CAROL. Join festival Executive Director Janette Force for a lively post-film discussion with poet and Peninsula College professor Kate Reavey.

We have all new movies this week! 

We're finally opening Laurie Anderson's beautiful film HEART OF A DOG. It's for anyone who loves, art, music, animals, poetry, and philosophy. Well, it's for everyone.

The Coen brothers continue to surprise with HAIL, CAESAR!, a frothy musical comedy about Hollywood's golden age, with an all-star cast that includes George Clooney, Ralph Fiennes, Tilda Swinton, Frances McDormand, Josh Brolin, Channing Tatum and more.

The OSCAR NOMINATED SHORT FILMS are always a treat, and this year we're featuring animation all week, with two programs of powerful short documentaries this weekend.

And finally, in the Starlight Room, we're opening THE DANISH GIRL, starring Eddie Redmayne in the true story about a transgender artist. His Oscar-nominated performance is astonishing.

--Rocky