Rose Theatre

Spring Salutations

Between movies and special events, we have a busy week ahead at the Rose and the Starlight Room. Two new movies begin this Friday that I am especially pleased to be showing. MIDNIGHT SPECIAL from director Jeff Nichols confirms once again this young director's gift for storytelling and generating great performances from actors. His last picture, MUD (2012), was a hit at the Rose, and along with TAKE SHELTER (2011), all three films from Nichols have featured actor Michael Shannon. When you come to see CITY OF GOLD - and you must - save room for dinner afterwards. Seriously, this wonderful, culturally inclusive, charming movie will send you out of the Rose craving the nearest culinary sensation. As A.O. Scott of The New York Times said, [Mr. Gold's] "enthusiasm and generosity of spirit stand in definitive rebuke to the myth that critics are crabbed, hostile, pleasure-hating creatures. He finds intimations of perfection - meals, dishes, single bites that sustain his faith in Los Angeles and, by implication, in humanity. CITY OF GOLD is a lovely testament to that faith, worth attending to even if you think you have no interest in food, California or criticism."

Past Rocky's Reviews

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

Classics Night in the Starlight Room, 7/21/15

Amy -  Directed by Asif Kapadia, 7/20/15

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, 7/1/15

Manohla Dargis on The Wolfpack, 6/24/15

Pixar Rules!, 6/16/15

The Salt of the Earth and Woman in Gold Return, 6/14/15

Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, 6/2/15

Stratford Festival in HD, 5/29/15

Kristen Stewart in THE CLOUDS OF SILS MARIA, 5/6/15

Wild Tales is Wild Indeed, 4/28/15

The Alloy Orchestra Returns With Son of the Sheik, 4/23/15

The Hunting Ground: 2 weekend showings, 4/14/15

The Wrecking Crew Rocks!, 4/10/15

Seymour: An Introduction and The Wrecking Crew, 4/1/15

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem and Red Army, 3/27/15

‘71, 3/20/15

Dance 422, 3/10/15

And Now For Something Completely Different, 3/3/15

Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne: Master Filmmakers, 2/25/15

Paul Newman: Coors Connoisseur, 2/20/15

Stewart Stern (1922 - 2015), 2/12/15

Mary Dore - She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry, 2/4/15

Academy Award Nominees - Shorts, 1/27/15

Selma and JOHN, 1/22/15

Whiplash, 1/16/15

On the Waterfront, 1/13/15

Pride, 12/30/14

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), 12/23/14

Bainbridge Island Museum of Art, 12/16/14

Goodbye, Harvard Exit, 12/10/14

Citizenfour, 12/4/14

Mike Nichols, 1931-2014, 11/25/14

Return of the River Returns, 11/18/14

Director Jon Stewart, 11/15/14

Robert Horton, 11/4/14

Bill Murray Day at TIFF, 10/23/14

Tracks, 10/14/14

A Wealth of Great Entertainment, 10/8/14

Programming: How and Why I Select Movies, 9/30/14

Apocalypse Now, 9/16/14

Ward Serrill and Sophie Jane Mortimer, 9/11/14

Movies Movies Movies, 9/3/14

Werner Herzog: A Guide for the Perplexed, 8/28/14

It's not easy scoring a 100% rating on Rotten Tomatoes, but the reviews for Disney's THE JUNGLE BOOK are positively glowing. Director Jon Favreau scores again. His credits include IRON MAN (2010), and CHEF (2014), which holds the distinction of the longest playing movie at the Rose/Starlight - 8 weeks! We'll be presenting THE JUNGLE BOOK in both 2D (matinees) and 3D (evening shows).

DORIS is moving back downstairs to the Rose for another week, and Thursdayis your last opportunity to see DEMOLITION and EYE IN THE SKY, with the always great Helen Mirren.

Our 2015/2016 season of stunning ballets from the Bolshoi concludes this Sunday with DON QUIXOTE. And our season of live simulcasts from the Metropolitan Opera is coming to a close as well.  ROBERTO DEVEREUX - Saturday, 4/17 - is receiving stunning notices. "Shakespearean grandeur amid the vocal fireworks" -New York Magazine.  

And tickets are still available, but selling like wood chippers, for the 20th anniversary showing of FARGO next Wednesday, 4/20, in the Starlight Room. 

Marge Gunderson: Say, Lou, didya hear the one about the guy who couldn't afford personalized plates, so he went and changed his name to J3L2404?
Lou: Yay, that's a good one.

See you at the Rose, and the Starlight Room.

--Rocky