Rose Theatre

Star Wars and The Big Short

Yes, we're open on Christmas day and New Year's Eve! THE BIG SHORT opens in the Starlight Room today (Wed, 2/23). The first line of the New York Times review says it all: "A true crime story and a madcap comedy, a heist movie and a scalding polemic, THE BIG SHORT will affirm your deepest cynicism about Wall Street while simultaneously restoring your faith in Hollywood." It's already garnering rave reviews and Oscar buzz. Featuring Steve Carell, Ryan Gosling, Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and more.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Write with Light, 6/15/18

The Two Rachels, 6/6/18

Disobedience, 5/31/18

RBG, 5/16/18

Tully & Giselle, 5/4/18

Senior Superheroes, 4/28/18

Northwest Stories, 4/19/18

Woof!, 4/14/18

Sonia & Andy, 4/5/18

Comedy! Comedy! Comedy!, 3/29/18

Stormy Weather, 3/14/18

Allison Janney, 3/2/18

Oscar Week, 2/22/18

Sam Shepard, 2/9/18

Hedy Lamarr, 1/31/18

Best Parent, 1/27/18

The Shape of Water, 1/10/18

Rosamond Purcell, 1/6/18

Goldsworthy & Oldman, 12/28/17

Frances McDormand, 12/24/17

Star Wars and Lady Bird, 12/13/17

Paris Pilgrimage, 11/28/17

Greta Gerwig, 11/22/17

Refrigerators, 11/16/17

Herb & Dorothy and more, 11/13/17

Remarkable Individuals, 11/1/17

Loving Vincent, 10/26/17

Royalty Rules, 10/13/17

Battle of the Sexes, 9/28/17

Greetings From Telluride, 9/10/17

Wind River & Spain, 8/31/17

Columbus, 8/25/17

Women & Film, 8/10/17

Inconvenient Sequel, 8/6/17

Mother & Daughter, 7/14/17

25th Anniversary, 6/27/17

Wonder Woman, 6/3/17

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS continues to pack in the crowds, and we've already seen many faces several times over the last weekend.

And we're so pleased that our membership program kicked off  last week to great success. Yesterday we already had several members claiming their free weekly Tuesday night popcorn with their movie ticket.

We've got some wonderful films to start off the new year, so keep your eyes peeled for TRUMBO on 1/1, featuring the talents of Brian Cranston, Hellen Mirren, Diane Lane and John Goodman. Also in January we'll be featuring Leonardo DiCaprio in THE REVENANT by Alejandro Inarritu (BIRDMAN, BABEL), and CAROL by Todd Haynes, starring Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara. 

Next month's performing arts highlights: JANE EYRE from the National Theatre of London, LES PECHEURS DE PERLES live from the Metropolitan Opera and THE TAMING OF THE SHREW from the Bolshoi Ballet.