Rose Theatre

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more.

I would probably play any movie featuring Christopher Walken, even if he wasn'tdancing in it. The guy is cool. Fortunately THE FAMILY FANG - with or without dancing - is garnering especially good reviews for Walken and actor and director Jason Bateman. It's based on the 2011 best-selling novel by Kevin Wilson, and at the time of publication, Kirkus Reviews said, "The subtlety of the comedy is flawless, channeling the filmmaking of Wes Anderson or Rian Johnson. A fantastic first novel that asks if the kids are alright, finding answers in the most unexpected places." And speaking of kids, and the kid in all of us, APRIL AND THE EXTRAORDINARY WORLD is extraordinary. Really, when was the last time that you saw a French, animated, steampunk, sci-fi adventure at the Rose? Never! And since it may never happen again, do not miss this rare opportunity. It's based on the work of renowned graphic novelist Jacques Tardi and is about a family of scientists on the brink of discovering a powerful longevity serum. Their young daughter April is voiced by Marion Cotillard. And that's a winning combination.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Refrigerators, 11/16/17

Herb & Dorothy and more, 11/13/17

Remarkable Individuals, 11/1/17

Loving Vincent, 10/26/17

Royalty Rules, 10/13/17

Battle of the Sexes, 9/28/17

Greetings From Telluride, 9/10/17

Wind River & Spain, 8/31/17

Columbus, 8/25/17

Women & Film, 8/10/17

Inconvenient Sequel, 8/6/17

Mother & Daughter, 7/14/17

25th Anniversary, 6/27/17

Wonder Woman, 6/3/17

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

Classics Night in the Starlight Room, 7/21/15

Amy -  Directed by Asif Kapadia, 7/20/15

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, 7/1/15

Manohla Dargis on The Wolfpack, 6/24/15

Pixar Rules!, 6/16/15

The Salt of the Earth and Woman in Gold Return, 6/14/15

Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, 6/2/15

Stratford Festival in HD, 5/29/15

Kristen Stewart in THE CLOUDS OF SILS MARIA, 5/6/15

Wild Tales is Wild Indeed, 4/28/15

The Alloy Orchestra Returns With Son of the Sheik, 4/23/15

The Hunting Ground: 2 weekend showings, 4/14/15

The Wrecking Crew Rocks!, 4/10/15

Seymour: An Introduction and The Wrecking Crew, 4/1/15

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem and Red Army, 3/27/15

‘71, 3/20/15

Dance 422, 3/10/15

And Now For Something Completely Different, 3/3/15

Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne: Master Filmmakers, 2/25/15

Paul Newman: Coors Connoisseur, 2/20/15

Stewart Stern (1922 - 2015), 2/12/15

Mary Dore - She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry, 2/4/15

Academy Award Nominees - Shorts, 1/27/15

And as long as we're in Paris, I invite you to see MARGUERITE, a delightful film inspired by the real-life story of American opera singer Florence Foster Jenkins, who had far more passion for singing than actual talent. "She opens her mouth, and out comes - well, a random collection of notes, seemingly shoved out of her throat, each one capable of peeling paint off the elegant walls." (Moira Macdonald,Seattle Times).

MY GOLDEN DAYS and THE JUNGLE BOOK depart this Thursday, and CAPTAIN AMERICA & Co. holds over for another week of super hero action. 

The Berlin Philharmonic fills the Rose with their beautiful music this Sunday atnoon. And if you're a Level 3, 4 or 5 member of the Rose, your special screening isthis Saturday in the Starlight Room at 12:15. 

It's still two weeks away, but tickets are selling fast for ALL THE PRESIDENT'S MEN, our May Classics Feature in the Starlight.     

--Rocky

See you at the Rose, and the Starlight Room