Rose Theatre

Summer Movies

Greetings Rose Fans, "Sliding into theaters on a river of slime and an endless supply of good vibes, the new, cheerfully silly GHOSTBUSTERS is that rarest of big-studio offerings - a movie that is a lot of enjoyable, disposable fun. And enjoy it while you can because this doesn't happen often, even in summer...The season when everyone jumps onboard (whee!) and agrees that, yes, this great goof is exactly what you were thinking when you wondered why they didn't make summer movies like they used to." I'm not sure which makes me smile more, this joyous, pithy opening paragraph from The New York Times review, or that it was written by Manohla Dargis, the always erudite, rarely predictable film reviewer. No matter, this is definitely a Brando-sized-popcorn-with-butter-and-yeast-and-Silverwater-Secret-Spice movie.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Paris Pilgrimage, 11/28/17

Greta Gerwig, 11/22/17

Refrigerators, 11/16/17

Herb & Dorothy and more, 11/13/17

Remarkable Individuals, 11/1/17

Loving Vincent, 10/26/17

Royalty Rules, 10/13/17

Battle of the Sexes, 9/28/17

Greetings From Telluride, 9/10/17

Wind River & Spain, 8/31/17

Columbus, 8/25/17

Women & Film, 8/10/17

Inconvenient Sequel, 8/6/17

Mother & Daughter, 7/14/17

25th Anniversary, 6/27/17

Wonder Woman, 6/3/17

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

Classics Night in the Starlight Room, 7/21/15

Amy -  Directed by Asif Kapadia, 7/20/15

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, 7/1/15

Manohla Dargis on The Wolfpack, 6/24/15

Pixar Rules!, 6/16/15

The Salt of the Earth and Woman in Gold Return, 6/14/15

Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, 6/2/15

Stratford Festival in HD, 5/29/15

Kristen Stewart in THE CLOUDS OF SILS MARIA, 5/6/15

Wild Tales is Wild Indeed, 4/28/15

The Alloy Orchestra Returns With Son of the Sheik, 4/23/15

The Hunting Ground: 2 weekend showings, 4/14/15

The Wrecking Crew Rocks!, 4/10/15

Seymour: An Introduction and The Wrecking Crew, 4/1/15

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem and Red Army, 3/27/15

‘71, 3/20/15

Dance 422, 3/10/15

And Now For Something Completely Different, 3/3/15

Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne: Master Filmmakers, 2/25/15

Paul Newman: Coors Connoisseur, 2/20/15

Stewart Stern (1922 - 2015), 2/12/15

If ghosts and slime are not your thing, then consider the Starlight Room beginning this Friday, where things take a more serious turn, courtesy of the international best-selling espionage author John Le Carré. OUR KIND OF TRAITOR stars Ewan McGregor and Stellan Skarsgard and, drum roll, please, a cameo by David John Moore Cornwell, otherwise known as John Le Carré. Spot him if you can.

THE SECRET LIFE OF PETS holds over for another week, while Spielberg's THE BFG departs this Thursday, July 14th. And I am sad to say that THE MUSIC OF STRANGERS: YO-YO MA AND THE SILK ROAD ENSEMBLE must also depart Sunday after the 1:00 showing. But I am going to bring it back just as soon as I can, along with the equally impressive SONG OF LAHORE. 

Only 14 tickets remain for BRIEF ENCOUNTER (1945), our Starlight Classics Feature next Wednesday, July 20th. Director David Lean and writer Noël Coward made the ordinary romantic in this beloved British film starring Trevor Howard and Celia Johnson. Through a series of clandestine encounters in train-station tea-rooms, they fall in love, all to the strains of Rachmaninoff's Second Piano Concerto. The picture won the Grand Prix award at the Cannes Film Festival. It went on to international acclaim, bringing Johnson the New York Film Critics Award for Best Actress.

And for a rousing good summer time, don't forget the Inter-Dependence Day Party at Finnriver Orchard this Saturday, July 16th. It's BABE on the big inflatable screen at dusk. 

--Rocky

See you at the Rose, and the Starlight Room