Rose Theatre

Swiss Cows

The final day of our DANCE ON CAMERA festival (5/14) couldn't be more diverse, and it features my favorite film out of the 22 movies that we're presenting. No program description can do justice to REINES D'UN JOUR. You'll have to trust me on this one. Suffice it to say, these dancers and cows might change the way you greet people. One of my other favorite movies is the 9 minute short VANISHING POINTS. It was shot on the streets of Montreal and features two hip-hop dancers in brief, fleeting synchronicity. Both DANCING BEETHOVEN and ALIVE & KICKING are an exhilarating blend of music and dance, and a perfect way to end the festival. Enjoy.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Women & Film, 8/10/17

Inconvenient Sequel, 8/6/17

Mother & Daughter, 7/14/17

25th Anniversary, 6/27/17

Wonder Woman, 6/3/17

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

Classics Night in the Starlight Room, 7/21/15

Amy -  Directed by Asif Kapadia, 7/20/15

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, 7/1/15

Manohla Dargis on The Wolfpack, 6/24/15

Pixar Rules!, 6/16/15

The Salt of the Earth and Woman in Gold Return, 6/14/15

Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, 6/2/15

Stratford Festival in HD, 5/29/15

Kristen Stewart in THE CLOUDS OF SILS MARIA, 5/6/15

Wild Tales is Wild Indeed, 4/28/15

The Alloy Orchestra Returns With Son of the Sheik, 4/23/15

The Hunting Ground: 2 weekend showings, 4/14/15

The Wrecking Crew Rocks!, 4/10/15

Seymour: An Introduction and The Wrecking Crew, 4/1/15

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem and Red Army, 3/27/15

‘71, 3/20/15

Dance 422, 3/10/15

And Now For Something Completely Different, 3/3/15

Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne: Master Filmmakers, 2/25/15

Paul Newman: Coors Connoisseur, 2/20/15

Stewart Stern (1922 - 2015), 2/12/15

Mary Dore - She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry, 2/4/15

Academy Award Nominees - Shorts, 1/27/15

Selma and JOHN, 1/22/15

Whiplash, 1/16/15

On the Waterfront, 1/13/15

Pride, 12/30/14

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), 12/23/14

Bainbridge Island Museum of Art, 12/16/14

Goodbye, Harvard Exit, 12/10/14

Citizenfour, 12/4/14

Mike Nichols, 1931-2014, 11/25/14

     Our Starlight Room screening Wednesday night of A LION IN WINTER sold in record time, so we've added a second showing on Saturday, April 29th at 12:45.

     I have yet to see COLOSSAL, the new Anne Hathaway, Jason Sudeikis film, but I can't wait. Deconstructing the monster movie genre in wildly imaginative ways, writer-director Nacho Vigalondo unleashes a fantastic tale that also triumphs as a wholly original and subversive romantic comedy. "A brilliantly bizarro satire of gender politics." -Rolling Stone

     TOMORROW, the wonderful documentary about taking steps toward a sustainable future, had two nearly-sold out show this past weekend, so the movie is coming back for a full week beginning this Friday. It shares the Rosebud screen with GIFTED, here for one more week. THE LOST CITY OF Z moves up to the Starlight Room on Friday, and TOMMY'S HONOUR shoots its final round of golf this Thursday.

     The National Theatre of London returns this weekend with two presentations of TWELFTH NIGHT, an extravagant new production that gleefully refocuses Shakespeare's comedy.

     Our early Wednesday matinees begin this week, with showings of THE LOST CITY OF Z (12:45) and TOMMY'S HONOUR (1:15). Our second season of the popular COMMUNITY ARTS FILM SERIES doesn't begin until October, but the new line-up is on our website, and tickets and passes are now available. (Passes are available only at the box office).
    
 --Rocky