Rose Theatre

Tangoheart

The forecast is for warmer weather next week, but I can guarantee that if TANGOHEART was playing this weekend instead of Saturday, January 14th, they would generate enough heat to warrant sun screen. Okay, slight exaggeration. TANGOHEART artistic director Bertram Levy has spent more than a decade collecting and transcribing the classic orchestrations of tango, and the group is one of the few sextets outside of Argentina to feature the bandoneon, the essential instrument of tango. TANGOHEART will raise high the roof beam and send you out of Rose thankful, once again, for the great talent in our community. Only 42 tickets remaining for this hot show.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

Classics Night in the Starlight Room, 7/21/15

Amy -  Directed by Asif Kapadia, 7/20/15

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, 7/1/15

Manohla Dargis on The Wolfpack, 6/24/15

Pixar Rules!, 6/16/15

The Salt of the Earth and Woman in Gold Return, 6/14/15

Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, 6/2/15

Stratford Festival in HD, 5/29/15

Kristen Stewart in THE CLOUDS OF SILS MARIA, 5/6/15

Wild Tales is Wild Indeed, 4/28/15

The Alloy Orchestra Returns With Son of the Sheik, 4/23/15

The Hunting Ground: 2 weekend showings, 4/14/15

The Wrecking Crew Rocks!, 4/10/15

Seymour: An Introduction and The Wrecking Crew, 4/1/15

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem and Red Army, 3/27/15

‘71, 3/20/15

Dance 422, 3/10/15

And Now For Something Completely Different, 3/3/15

Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne: Master Filmmakers, 2/25/15

Paul Newman: Coors Connoisseur, 2/20/15

Stewart Stern (1922 - 2015), 2/12/15

Mary Dore - She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry, 2/4/15

Academy Award Nominees - Shorts, 1/27/15

Selma and JOHN, 1/22/15

Whiplash, 1/16/15

On the Waterfront, 1/13/15

Pride, 12/30/14

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), 12/23/14

Bainbridge Island Museum of Art, 12/16/14

Goodbye, Harvard Exit, 12/10/14

Citizenfour, 12/4/14

Mike Nichols, 1931-2014, 11/25/14

Return of the River Returns, 11/18/14

Director Jon Stewart, 11/15/14

Robert Horton, 11/4/14

Bill Murray Day at TIFF, 10/23/14

Tracks, 10/14/14

     "Magnificent and evocative...as close as cinema gets to tracking the impulses and paradoxes of a gifted imagination."  That quote is from the review of GERHARD RICHTER PAINTING in the Village Voice. Mr. Richter, who turns 85 next month and was born in Dresden, has produced abstract as well as photorealist paintings, photographs and glass pieces.  His art follows the examples of Picasso and Jean Arp in undermining the concept of the artist's obligation to maintain a single cohesive style. GERHARD RICHTER PAINTING is the continuation of our very popular COMMUNITY ARTS FILM SERIES, produced in partnership with Northwind Arts Center.  Only 32 tickets remaining for this Sunday's showing at noon in the Rose.

     What is it about birds and Port Townsendites?  Truly, some of the most popular films at the Rose over the last 24+ years have focused on birds; WINGED MIGRATION ('01), MARCH OF THE PENGUINS ('05), and now THE EAGLE HUNTRESS ('16). This most recent wonderful bird movie will be holding over for another week in the Rosebud.  FENCES and MANCHESTER BY THE SEA are also here for another week.

     "There is a party going on at the Metropolitan Opera House, and if you are a fan of the raucous, eccentric, solemn, hilarious and heartbreaking art form that is celebrated there, you should join the fun before it ends January 7." I imagine that New York Times music critic Zachary Woolfe had just as much fun writing that opening paragraph to his review of NABUCCO, as you will have watching the final performance of it at the Rose this Saturday. The opera begins at 9:55 a.m.

     Coming Attractions: Next Friday, January 13th we're opening HIDDEN FIGURES.  Based on the trailer for this movie I wasn't expecting to like it that much, but I ended up loving it.  It's an adaptation of the popular book "Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race."