Rose Theatre

The King and I, My Golden Days and more.

Port Townsend to Hollywood is always a culture shock for me, but the Turner Classic Movies Film Festival - hosted by the inimitable Robert Osborne - is the perfect conduit. The festival is heaven for lovers of classic Hollywood filmmaking. I attended the event this past weekend in search of great movies to share with you at the Rose and the Starlight Room. And I found some gems. THE MORE THE MERRIER (1943), starring Jean Arthur, Joel McCrea and Charles Coburn is a screwball comedy that will have you laughing from beginning to end, and it's booked for June 25th, Classics Night in the Starlight.... In need of a super hero, or several? Marvel Studios' CAPTAIN AMERICA: CIVIL WAR is being hailed as the best-of-the-best of the comic book genre. Captain America (Chris Evans), Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.), Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson), Falcon (Anthony Mackie) and Scarlet Witch (Elizabeth Olsen) take up residence in the Rose for some serious derring-do this Thursday night at 7:30 in 3D.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

Classics Night in the Starlight Room, 7/21/15

Amy -  Directed by Asif Kapadia, 7/20/15

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, 7/1/15

Manohla Dargis on The Wolfpack, 6/24/15

Pixar Rules!, 6/16/15

The Salt of the Earth and Woman in Gold Return, 6/14/15

Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, 6/2/15

Stratford Festival in HD, 5/29/15

Kristen Stewart in THE CLOUDS OF SILS MARIA, 5/6/15

Wild Tales is Wild Indeed, 4/28/15

The Alloy Orchestra Returns With Son of the Sheik, 4/23/15

The Hunting Ground: 2 weekend showings, 4/14/15

The Wrecking Crew Rocks!, 4/10/15

Seymour: An Introduction and The Wrecking Crew, 4/1/15

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem and Red Army, 3/27/15

‘71, 3/20/15

Dance 422, 3/10/15

And Now For Something Completely Different, 3/3/15

Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne: Master Filmmakers, 2/25/15

Paul Newman: Coors Connoisseur, 2/20/15

Stewart Stern (1922 - 2015), 2/12/15

Mary Dore - She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry, 2/4/15

Academy Award Nominees - Shorts, 1/27/15

Selma and JOHN, 1/22/15

Whiplash, 1/16/15

On the Waterfront, 1/13/15

Pride, 12/30/14

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), 12/23/14

Bainbridge Island Museum of Art, 12/16/14

Goodbye, Harvard Exit, 12/10/14

Citizenfour, 12/4/14

Mike Nichols, 1931-2014, 11/25/14

Return of the River Returns, 11/18/14

Director Jon Stewart, 11/15/14

Robert Horton, 11/4/14

Bill Murray Day at TIFF, 10/23/14

Tracks, 10/14/14

A Wealth of Great Entertainment, 10/8/14

Programming: How and Why I Select Movies, 9/30/14

Apocalypse Now, 9/16/14

Ward Serrill and Sophie Jane Mortimer, 9/11/14

Movies Movies Movies, 9/3/14

Werner Herzog: A Guide for the Perplexed, 8/28/14

If super heroes are not your cup of tea, then a fine glass of wine and MY GOLDEN DAYS in the Starlight Room is the perfect ticket for you. This French Cannes Film Festival winner, starring Mathieu Amalric, reprises his role as Paul from MY SEX LIFE...OR HOW I GOT INTO AN ARGUMENT. Reviews for this movie are glowing. "A masterpiece. This is what great cinema looks like." -The Nation

MILES AHEAD ends tonight (Tuesday 5/3) in the Starlight Room, but Don Cheadle will continue to hang out in PT. You can also catch him in CAPTAIN AMERICA. And Thursday afternoon is the last showing of EVERYBODY WANTS SOME. THE JUNGLE BOOK holds over in the Rosebud for one more week in 2D only.

If my dear mother resided here I would take her to see Rodgers and Hammerstein's THE KING AND I for Mother's Day this Sunday (5/8). This glorious musical, which celebrates its 60th anniversary this year, was nominated for nine Academy Awards, and stars Deborah Kerr, Yul Brynner and Rita Moreno.   

And last, and perhaps most important, if you've been putting off purchasing that membership to the Rose, we now have 13 more reasons for you to act now, with more on the way. We've just launched an exciting Member Partner Program that gives Rose Theatre members fabulous deals at great Jefferson County businesses. 

--Rocky

See you at the Rose, and the Starlight Room