Rose Theatre

Spike Lee

WHEN THE LEVEE BROKE: A REQUIEM IN FOUR ACTS is a 4 hour TV Mini-Series that Spike Lee directed in 2006. It's a searing examination of the U.S. government's response to Hurricane Katrina. It's not just my favorite Spike Lee movie, it's one of my favorite documentaries. Although I have yet to see BLACKkKLANSMAN, I suspect that it's going to become my favorite Spike Lee work of fiction.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Marc Forster, 8/2/18

New York, 7/26/18

Fathers & Daughters, 7/15/18

Fred, 7/7/18

Rider / Rogers, 6/27/18

Write with Light, 6/15/18

The Two Rachels, 6/6/18

Disobedience, 5/31/18

RBG, 5/16/18

Tully & Giselle, 5/4/18

Senior Superheroes, 4/28/18

Northwest Stories, 4/19/18

Woof!, 4/14/18

Sonia & Andy, 4/5/18

Comedy! Comedy! Comedy!, 3/29/18

Stormy Weather, 3/14/18

Allison Janney, 3/2/18

Oscar Week, 2/22/18

Sam Shepard, 2/9/18

Hedy Lamarr, 1/31/18

Best Parent, 1/27/18

The Shape of Water, 1/10/18

Rosamond Purcell, 1/6/18

Goldsworthy & Oldman, 12/28/17

Frances McDormand, 12/24/17

Star Wars and Lady Bird, 12/13/17

Paris Pilgrimage, 11/28/17

Greta Gerwig, 11/22/17

Refrigerators, 11/16/17

Herb & Dorothy and more, 11/13/17

Remarkable Individuals, 11/1/17

Loving Vincent, 10/26/17

Royalty Rules, 10/13/17

Battle of the Sexes, 9/28/17

Greetings From Telluride, 9/10/17

Wind River & Spain, 8/31/17

Columbus, 8/25/17

Women & Film, 8/10/17

Inconvenient Sequel, 8/6/17

Mother & Daughter, 7/14/17

25th Anniversary, 6/27/17

Wonder Woman, 6/3/17

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

     Beyond its stranger-than-fiction real-life story, BLACKkKLANSMAN "is a furious, funny, blunt and brilliant confrontation with the truth. It's an alarm clock ringing in the midst of a historical nightmare, the rare piece of political popular art that works in all three dimensions." (A.O. Scott, NY Times). The movie stars John David Washington (Denzel's son), and features a cameo from Harry Belafonte. 

     I received two very different posters for the movie. I was initially inclined to put the less confrontational, in-your-face version in the front window of the Rose. But I changed my mind for two reasons. Mr. Lee has never shied away from stating his opinion about race relations in this country. But featuring the less confrontational poster felt like a cop out on my part in regards to Mr. Lee's work. The second reason is because of two prominent words on the more confrontational poster: INFILTRATE HATE.

     In keeping with stories that are stranger-than-fiction, THREE IDENTICAL STRANGERS, opening in the Starlight Room Friday, fits the bill perfectly. Three strangers are reunited by astonishing coincidence after being born identical triplets, separated at birth, and adopted by three different families. Their jaw-dropping, feel-good story instantly becomes a global sensation, complete with fame and celebrity, however, the fairy-tale reunion sets in motion a series of events that unearth an unimaginable secret. Winner of the Sundance Film Festival's Special Jury Award.

     "So unlikely and twist-filled that you keep picking your jaw up off the floor." Entertainment Weekly. "A stunning real-life mystery." -New York Magazine. The New York Times Critic's Pick

     And returning to the Starlight Friday is one of my favorite dramas of the year - LEAVE NO TRACE. 

     MEET ME AT THE MOVIES continues next Tuesday in the Rose at 1:00. This free program is part of the Frye Art Museum's Creative Aging initiative, an offering of programs for adults to experience the rich potential of aging through engagement with the arts and connection with others. Theme-based movie clips are shown at MEET ME AT THE MOVIES, followed by facilitated audience discussion. The people and places of the Northwest is this month's theme.
     
--Rocky