Rose Theatre

25th Anniversary

On July 11th the Rose will be celebrating its 25th anniversary. It is indeed a milestone to be proud of. But what I reflect on, more than anything else, is the job that I still love, the hundreds of wonderful people who have worked for me, and the remarkable support that this community has shown the Rose. To all of you, a sincere, heartfelt thank you. Over this quarter century, we have shown 3,176 movies, popped 15.6 tons of popcorn, melted 9.5 tons of real butter, and watched you sprinkle 3.1 tons of nutritional yeast on your popcorn.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Wife / Colette, 10/13/18

A Star is Born, 10/4/18

Gilda & Co., 9/25/18

Sweet Spot, 9/12/18

Programming Movies, 8/30/18

Spike Lee, 8/16/18

Marc Forster, 8/2/18

New York, 7/26/18

Fathers & Daughters, 7/15/18

Fred, 7/7/18

Rider / Rogers, 6/27/18

Write with Light, 6/15/18

The Two Rachels, 6/6/18

Disobedience, 5/31/18

RBG, 5/16/18

Tully & Giselle, 5/4/18

Senior Superheroes, 4/28/18

Northwest Stories, 4/19/18

Woof!, 4/14/18

Sonia & Andy, 4/5/18

Comedy! Comedy! Comedy!, 3/29/18

Stormy Weather, 3/14/18

Allison Janney, 3/2/18

Oscar Week, 2/22/18

Sam Shepard, 2/9/18

Hedy Lamarr, 1/31/18

Best Parent, 1/27/18

The Shape of Water, 1/10/18

Rosamond Purcell, 1/6/18

Goldsworthy & Oldman, 12/28/17

Frances McDormand, 12/24/17

Star Wars and Lady Bird, 12/13/17

Paris Pilgrimage, 11/28/17

Greta Gerwig, 11/22/17

Refrigerators, 11/16/17

Herb & Dorothy and more, 11/13/17

Remarkable Individuals, 11/1/17

Loving Vincent, 10/26/17

Royalty Rules, 10/13/17

Battle of the Sexes, 9/28/17

Greetings From Telluride, 9/10/17

Wind River & Spain, 8/31/17

Columbus, 8/25/17

Women & Film, 8/10/17

Inconvenient Sequel, 8/6/17

Mother & Daughter, 7/14/17

Wonder Woman, 6/3/17

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

A Swan Lake, 5/3/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

     Impressive numbers like these deserve recognition, so we're acknowledging this anniversary with two special events: a free showing of THE GODFATHER to salute its 45th anniversary, and a screening of the new film WAKEFIELD, followed by a Q&A with our honored guest, writer-director Robin Swicord. Swicord also wrote and directed THE JANE AUSTEN BOOK CLUB, as well as writing screenplays for LITTLE WOMEN, MEMOIRS OF A GEISHA, and THE CURIOUS CASE OF BENJAMIN BUTTON. WAKEFIELD stars Bryan Cranston and Jennifer Garner. "A brilliant adaptation of E.L. Doctorow, with a performance of enormous depth and sensitivity by Bryan Cranston." -New York Observer

     THE GODFATHER will screen at 12:00 (first-come, first-seated), and WAKEFIELD will screen at 7:30. Tickets, at regular evening prices, are now available at the box office and online. Both movies are rated R. And perhaps most importantly, Rose popcorn will be free to all moviegoers all day on the 11th. I hope that you can join us.

     And this week we've got a great line-up of new movies, brought to you by the letter B: BABY DRIVER, BEATRIZ AT DINNER and THE BEGUILED.  You'll find show times and story lines about all of them below. And these are the last few days to catch the great documentary RESTLESS CREATURE: WENDY WHELAN, PARIS CAN WAIT, and this summer's hit WONDER WOMAN.

     Dig the tie dye t-shirt out from the bottom of the drawer, and join us this Saturday night for 80 minutes of musical bliss, as we rock out to MONTEREY POP. It's the 50th anniversary of this landmark film from the Summer of Love.

--Rocky