Rose Theatre

A Swan Lake

Greetings Rose Fans, It's unquestionably a new record for us; between today and next Thursday, May 11th we're presenting 24 different films. Most of these - short and feature length - our part of our exciting new DANCE ON CAMERA festival which runs May 6, 10 & 14. Remarkably, well over 300 tickets and passes have already been sold for all 22 films in the festival. And this first-ever Rose event is potentially expanding to 23 films. RARE BIRDS, the first film in the festival, is a great documentary about the creation of Alexander Ekman's groundbreaking A SWAN LAKE. In programming the festival I was unaware that an actual recording of A SWAN LAKE existed. But a further trip down the internet rabbit hole revealed a copy, and the Dance Film Association in New York is currently seeking permission from the rights-holder for us to play it. Stay tuned for further details about a special showing of A SWAN LAKE. Festival passes will include this movie, or individual tickets will be $12.

Past Rocky's Reviews

Paris Pilgrimage, 11/28/17

Greta Gerwig, 11/22/17

Refrigerators, 11/16/17

Herb & Dorothy and more, 11/13/17

Remarkable Individuals, 11/1/17

Loving Vincent, 10/26/17

Royalty Rules, 10/13/17

Battle of the Sexes, 9/28/17

Greetings From Telluride, 9/10/17

Wind River & Spain, 8/31/17

Columbus, 8/25/17

Women & Film, 8/10/17

Inconvenient Sequel, 8/6/17

Mother & Daughter, 7/14/17

25th Anniversary, 6/27/17

Wonder Woman, 6/3/17

Laura, Chuck & Norman, 5/20/17

Happy Trails, Renée, 5/13/17

Swiss Cows, 4/25/17

Dance on Camera - Day 2, 4/23/17

Zucchini, 4/6/17

Robert Osborne, 3/7/17

Poetry, 2/24/17

Amadeus, 2/2/17

POP QUIZ!, 1/21/17

I Am Not Your Negro, 1/12/17

Tangoheart, 1/5/17

Star-struck, 12/21/16

From the Balcony, 11/17/16

Mahler & Mom, 11/12/16

Alvin Ailey, 11/3/16

Community Arts Film Series, 9/29/16

17th Port Townsend Film Festival, 9/23/16

Off to Telluride, 8/31/16

PTFF Essay, 8/23/16

Wild Flowers, 8/2/16

Music Movies, 7/22/16

Summer Movies, 7/13/16

It’s Our Anniversary, 7/9/16

This Week, 6/30/16

Summer’s Greetings, 6/22/16

Love is in the air!, 6/17/16

5 New Movies, 6/8/16

Food Movies, 6/1/16

Tim Burton and more!, 5/28/16

This Week’s Great Films, 5/18/16

Steampunk Animation, Walken, Berlin Phil and more., 5/11/16

The King and I, My Golden Days and more., 5/4/16

This Week, 4/27/16

Spring Has Sprung!, 4/20/16

Spring Salutations, 4/14/16

This Week, 4/8/16

This Week, 3/30/16

J.J. Abrams, Sally Field and more., 3/23/16

New movies!, 3/18/16

A Week of Incredible International Cinema, 3/9/16

Michael Moore, Mustang, Maggie Smith and more, 3/1/16

Kaufman, Bergman, Moore and more., 2/24/16

7 Days of Oscar, 45 Years, Macbeth and more., 2/17/16

45 Years, Coen Brothers, Les Liasons Dangereuses and more, 2/10/16

Special Member Event + 6 New Movies!, 2/2/16

Elvis, Held-Over movies, Laurie Anderson, 1/26/16

This Week, 1/20/16

This Week, 1/12/16

This Week, 1/7/16

This Week, 12/31/15

Star Wars and The Big Short, 12/23/15

Spotlight Earns the Spotlight, 11/25/15

A Bounty of Great Movies, 11/20/15

Shakespeare & Cumberbatch Thrill Audiences, 11/10/15

On Tap at the Rose, 11/7/15

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - 40th Anniversary, 10/28/15

My Fair Lady: Winner of 8 Academy Awards, 10/15/15

Davis Guggenheim, 10/14/15

Lili Tomlin, 9/30/15

Meru, 8/19/15

Tangerine, 8/12/15

Hot Weather, Cool Movies, 7/28/15

Classics Night in the Starlight Room, 7/21/15

Amy -  Directed by Asif Kapadia, 7/20/15

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, 7/1/15

Manohla Dargis on The Wolfpack, 6/24/15

Pixar Rules!, 6/16/15

The Salt of the Earth and Woman in Gold Return, 6/14/15

Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, 6/2/15

Stratford Festival in HD, 5/29/15

Kristen Stewart in THE CLOUDS OF SILS MARIA, 5/6/15

Wild Tales is Wild Indeed, 4/28/15

The Alloy Orchestra Returns With Son of the Sheik, 4/23/15

The Hunting Ground: 2 weekend showings, 4/14/15

The Wrecking Crew Rocks!, 4/10/15

Seymour: An Introduction and The Wrecking Crew, 4/1/15

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem and Red Army, 3/27/15

‘71, 3/20/15

Dance 422, 3/10/15

And Now For Something Completely Different, 3/3/15

Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne: Master Filmmakers, 2/25/15

Paul Newman: Coors Connoisseur, 2/20/15

Stewart Stern (1922 - 2015), 2/12/15

     And speaking of dance, our final presentation of the Bolshoi Ballet for the 2016/2017 season is this Sunday.  The esteemed Bolshoi company presents A HERO OF OUR TIME, based on the larger-than-life hero Pechorin.

     Our new movies beginning Friday include the well-reviewed, witty, romantic drama THEIR FINEST, the irresistible comedy GOING IN STYLE, and the celebrated, subversive animated feature MY ENTIRE HIGH SCHOOL SINKING INTO THE SEA. Please check out the film summaries and trailers below for each one. 

     THE LOST CITY OF Z is an unqualified hit.  It opened in the Rose, moved to the Starlight Room, and this Friday it opens in the Rosebud Cinema. Perhaps British explorer Percy Fawcett will finally find his lost city in the Bud.

     This Thursday is the last day for TOMORROW, GIFTED and COLOSSAL. 

     And finally, and perhaps for the fourth time, we're showing the great concert movie STOP MAKING SENSE, in honor of director Jonathan Demme, who passed away in New York last Wednesday at the age of 73.  "The Oscar-winning filmmaker who observed emphatically American characters with a discerning eye, a social conscience and a rock 'n' roll heart," (NY Times), achieved especially wide acclaim with THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS and PHILADELPHIA. His movies also include SOMETHING WILD, BELOVED, MELVIN AND HOWARD, and RACHEL GETTING MARRIED. STOP MAKING SENSE, starring The Talking Heads, is a joyous, life-affirming movie.  It is meant to be played loud, and it will be. All tickets just $5.
    
 --Rocky

See you at the Rose, and the Starlight Room